NT13 Program

Program change

Prof. Xinhe Bao has unfortunately been prevented from attending the Conference due to a visa issue. His Invited talk I12 scheduled at 9:45 on Friday will be presented by a co-author, Prof. Xiulian Pan.


Hover over the names to see the titles of the talks, or click on the links for the abstracts. The times on the left denote the starting times of each slot in the program.

Poster abstracts can be found on the Poster pages, reachable by clicking on the Posters # links in the program.

  Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday
24 June 25 June 26 June 27 June 28 June
9:00 Registration K2: S. Hofmann K3: Shinohara K4: S. Reich K5: H. Dai
9:15 (from 8 am)        
9:30 Tutorial A        
9:45 Y.H. Lee I3: J. Hart I7: C. Zhou I8: L-M. Peng I12: X. Pan
10:15   C8: Krasnikov C14: T.G. Kim C21: P. Barbara C27: M. Borghei
10:30 Tutorial B C9: V. Jourdain C15: W. Kim C22: Catheline C28: T. Sharifi
10:45 C. Bichara Poster+ 1 Poster+ 3 Poster+ 4 C29: P. Ayala
11:00   Posters 1 Posters 3 Posters 4 Coffee break
11:30 Coffee break       C30: Kingston
11:45         C31: A. Pakdel
12:00 Tutorial C       Summary and
12:15 A. Ferrari       poster awards
12:30         NT14 preview
12:45   Lunch Lunch Lunch Closing
13:00 Lunch       Lunch
14:00   I4: S.K. Doorn C16: Takenobu I9: F. Mauri  
14:15 Opening   C17: A. Zarbin   Transport
14:30 K1: Dresselhaus C10: Y. Li C18: Moshkalev C23: M.J. Green to
14:45   C11: J. Zhang C19: G. Ning C24: U. Schmidt satellite
15:00   C12: S. Sakurai C20: Archanjo C25: Y-Q. Xu ferry
15:15 I1: A. Porter Poster+ 2 Group photo Poster+ 5  
15:30   Posters 2 Transport Posters 5  
15:45 C1: K.E. Moore   to    
16:00 C2: J. Terrones   excursion    
16:15 Coffee break   and    
16:30     free time   Satellite
16:45 I2: P.G. Collins       ferry
17:00     Excursion   departure
17:15 C3: Bondarev I5: A. Bachtold & I10: S. Roche  
17:30 C4: Z. Zhu   Banquet    
17:45 C5: Y.C. Choi I6: van der Zant   I11: Y-W. Son  
18:00 C6: P. Hubert        
18:15 C7: Barnard C13: Hermann   C26: Herranen  
18:30 Welcome Transport    
18:45 party Espoo City    
19:00 (Dipoli) reception    
Color legend:      
  Keynote talk (45 min) Tutorial lecture (60 min)
  Invited talk (30 min) Poster summary (15 min)
  Contributed talk (15 min) Poster session (105 min)
  Lunch (75 min) Evening event

Session chairs

Day Time Session Chairman
Mon 09:30-10:30 Tutorial A Alan Windle
Mon 10:30-11:30 Tutorial B Yoshikazu Homma
Mon 12:00-13:00 Tutorial C Mika Petterson
Mon 14:15-14:30 Opening Esko Kauppinen
Mon 14:30-16:15 Session 1 Riichiro Saito
Mon 16:45-18:00 Session 2 Ado Jorio
Mon 18:00-20:00 Welcome party Albert Nasibulin
Tue 09:00-11:00 Session 3 Annick Loiseau
Tue 14:00-15:30 Session 4 Anna Swan
Tue 17:15-18:30 Session 5 Harri Lipsanen
Tue 19:00-20:30 City reception Pertti Hakonen
Wed 09:00-11:00 Session 6 Rikizo Hatakeyama
Wed 14:00-15:00 Session 7 Yuri Svirko
Wed 19:30-21:00 Banquet Risto Nieminen
Thu 09:00-11:00 Session 8 Naotoshi Nakashima
Thu 14:00-15:30 Session 9 Kai Nordlund
Thu 17:15-18:30 Session 10 Jean-Christophe Charlier
Fri 09:00-11:00 Session 11 Toma Susi
Fri 11:30-12:00 Session 12 Kim Bolton
Fri 12:00-13:00 Closing Esko Kauppinen

Keynote speakers

The five keynote speakers of the NT13 conference are:

Prof. Mildred D. Dresselhaus


Prof. Hongjie Dai

(Stanford University, USA)

Prof. Hisanori Shinohara

(Nagoya University, Japan)

Prof. Stephanie Reich

(Freie Universitat Berlin, Germany)

Dr. Stephan Hofmann

(University of Cambridge, UK)

Tutorial lectures

To assist newcomers in the field and also to offer experienced researchers a high level overview of important research topics, three tutorial lectures will start the NT13 conference on Monday June 24. The tutorial speakers are:

Invited Talks

The invited speakers of the NT13 conference are: